CHAMBERS’ CORNER: Eye On The Ball

Chambers hoops.jpgBy Bob Chambers

This is Chambers’ Corner ….. the occasional occupant of a corner of this blog, where Bob Chambers, an Evening Tribune photographer from 1957 to 1970, will present some of his photographs from that era …… Readers are asked to please comment!

Here from 1965 at a packed Eastdale Gym, Thorold Fonthill #22 goes up very high against Port Colborne. It looks to me as if the players are as athletic then as now, and in fine shape. Remember, this is FIFTY years ago, and none of these guys are thinking they’ll be a Toronto Raptor.

I don’t think this was the final night but a prelim.

I like the shot, even though I never called myself a sports photographer, I somehow managed to get a few good shots. Of course you took one shot at a time and wound the film by hand.

I wonder where these guys are now?

 Bob Chambers, Tribune photographer 1957-1970

Your comments are invited and appreciated by the photographer/author.

(Chambers’ Corner is a recurring feature on the blog.)

 

2 thoughts on “CHAMBERS’ CORNER: Eye On The Ball

  1. Bob Chambers

    I wish coach Rao would’ve commented on the athleticism of #22 from TFHS. Looking
    closely at the picture #22 might be coming down from an even higher spot …. nice jump
    I thought.
    Bob C

    Reply

Leave a Reply

