Two Local Students Chosen As Loran Scholars

Editor’s Note: 

Two local students are among a roll call of distinguished young Canadians who have been offered a Loran Award. The two are: Aidan Harold of Welland, who attends Notre Dame College School and Gracie Lowes of Fonthill, who attends Ridley College, St. Catharines.

The following release, below, explains the significance of the award, why scholars are chosen, what each has to offer, and other background about the prestigious scholarship. It also provides a link to a short bio, with photo, of each scholar. I have provided the release in its entirety so readers have opportunity to learn about the scope of the initiative and the process involved in selecting the recipients.  – Joe Barkovich.

On Sunday February 7th, 31 young Canadians (listed below) received a phone call that they will never forget. Each one was offered a Loran Award, valued at up to $100,000 over four years for undergraduate studies in Canada. Together, they will form the Loran Scholars Foundation’s 27th class of scholars.

Loran Scholars are chosen for their character, commitment to service and leadership potential through a rigorous three-month selection process. The process is designed to seek out evidence of character – integrity, courage, compassion, grit and a high level of personal autonomy – through assessments and interviews with up to 12 different people. This year, the Loran Scholars Foundation received 4,273 applications from students across Canada. Just over half of the applicants were nominated by their schools. The foundation’s volunteers interviewed 400 semi-finalists in 21 cities, and 80 finalists advanced to national selections in Toronto. The 31 Loran Scholars represent the top 0.7% of all applicants.

This year’s Loran Scholars hail from all over the country, from Cowichan Bay, BC to Peterborough, ON to Saint-Louis-du-Ha! Ha!, Quebec. A third were born outside of Canada. They come from all walks of life, show interest in a wide range of subjects and have taken the initiative to make positive changes in their communities.

“The Loran Award is an investment in potential,” says Franca Gucciardi, CEO of the Loran Scholars Foundation and one of the first Loran Scholars. “We are proud to offer these young people every opportunity over the next four years at university to take meaningful risks, share their talents and learn about how they can best contribute to society.”

The Loran Award is Canada’s largest undergraduate award, with a total maximum value of $100,000 over four years. It includes a $9,000 annual stipend, a matching tuition waiver from one of 25 partner universities, funding for summer internships, personal mentorship, a weeklong orientation expedition in Algonquin Park as well as annual retreats and scholar gatherings.

Loran Scholars, Class of 2016
See their short biographies and photos.

Bilal Ayyache, Nelson McIntyre Collegiate
Winnipeg, MB

Nitish Bhatt, Gonzaga High School
St. John’s, NL

Devon Bourgeois, Kelowna Christian School
West Kelowna, BC

Catherine Côté, Cégep de Rimouski
St-Louis-du-Ha! Ha!, QC

Taylor Lynn Curtis, Holy Trinity School
Peterborough, ON

Allison Gacad, St. John Paul II Catholic Secondary School
Toronto, ON

Émélie Gagnon, Polyvalente Thomas-Albert
DSL de Grand-Sault, NB

Alex Gillis, Fountain Academy of the Sacred Heart
Halifax, NS

Aidan Harold, Notre Dame College School
Welland, ON

Noubahar Hasnain, Mount Pearl Senior High School
Mount Pearl, St.John’s, NL

Yuna Im, Bernice MacNaughton High School
Moncton, NB

Ilakkiyan Jeyakumar, R. H. King Academy
Scarborough, ON

Braden Lamoureux, Uxbridge Secondary School
Uxbridge, ON

Stephanie Li, Old Scona Academic High School
Edmonton, AB

Gracie Lowes, Ridley College
Fonthill, ON

Marie-Hélène Lyonnais, Champlain Regional College (St. Lawrence)
Québec, QC

Sarah Mackenzie, United World College of the Adriatic
Calgary, AB

Yasmina Male, Collège français
Toronto, ON

Jack McCrossin, St. Malachy’s Memorial High School
Grand Bay, NB

Max Moloney, Adam Scott Collegiate and Vocational Institute
Bridgenorth, ON

David-Dan Nguyen, Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf
Montréal, QC

Wynn Rederburg, Frances Kelsey Secondary School
Cowichan Bay, BC

Salma Rehimini, Champlain Regional College (St. Lambert)
Saint-Constant, QC

Callista Ryan, Howe Sound Secondary School
Squamish, BC

Adi Sharma, Grande Prairie Composite High School
Grande Prairie, AB

Athavarn Srikantharajah, R. H. King Academy
Ajax, ON

Aditi Sriram, William Lyon Mackenzie Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Silas Tsui, Eric Hamber Secondary School
Richmond, BC

Bronwyn Vaisey, Vancouver Technical Secondary School
Vancouver, BC

Vicky Xu, Marc Garneau Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Sayeh Yousefi, R.E. Mountain Secondary School
Langley, BC

Loran Scholars Foundation
Founded in 1988, the Loran Scholars Foundation is a national charity that works in partnership with universities, donors and volunteers throughout the country to invest in young Canadians who demonstrate character, commitment to service and leadership potential. It has supported 541 Loran Scholars over 27 years. Tenable at one of 25 partner universities, the Loran Award is valued at up to $100,000 over four years, including annual stipends and tuition waivers, mentorship, funding for summer internships, annual retreats and a weeklong orientation expedition.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.