Determined To Spread Awareness About Lyme Disease

lymewalk_6272

Some of the 300 people who took part in the second annual Lyme Walk Niagara held last week in Welland. (Supplied photos)

Editor’s note: Mauryah Burattini was co-organizer with Alisha Lemay of Lyme Walk Niagara on Saturday, June 4. The event attracted about 300 people and raised $12,800 for Lyme disease research. Special guest, and speaker, was Dr. Rick Sponaugle from the Sponaugle Wellness Institute in Florida, who has treated both Mauryah and Alisha.

Mauryah has been Lyme symptomatic for 11 years and was diagnosed in December 2014. Having known her for several years, I asked Mauryah to write a piece updating her condition for friends and others and about her role as an activist in the fight against Lyme.

By Mauryah Burattini

I am at a much better place than I was at this time last year. If I had to put a number on it, I would say I am feeling 75% better. I still have good days and bad days, but my good days are outweighing the bad days. I no longer need my wheel chair and I am able to function again. I still have to have a PICC line in my arm as I still require daily IV therapy and supplementation. I am proud to say that this is all natural vitamins/minerals and herbals.

lymewalk_5225

Mauryah Burattini, in a promo pic for Lyme Disease Awareness Month and the “Take a Bite out of Lyme” challenge.

For the most part, my treatment has consisted of an all natural protocol and it has been very successful. I have a fantastic team of functional medicine doctors who work well with my family doctor to make sure my body is vital and that it has everything it needs to fight off this disease.

I am not able to work yet because I have an intense daily detoxing treatment protocol that I still follow. It’s very time consuming but I am so motivated by the results that I am getting. I have had to make a complete lifestyle change in a sense that everything we use in my home and on my body needs to be all-natural and free of chemicals that make me even more sick. I have a severe sensitivity to mold and chemicals and so I am very limited in the places I can go outside of my home as I immediately take 10 steps backwards when I am exposed.

I am so grateful for my incredible family as they are so supportive of me and everyone is always there to help. Since I have been feeling better, I am determined to spread as much awareness as I can about this disease. I really want to use my experience to help others in their journey towards health. I am constantly getting e-mails and phone calls from people in the area who think they have Lyme and they don’t know where to start or who to turn to and are so desperate for help.

Lyme Walk Niagara was a huge success this year and I’m really glad to be a part of developing this support system and safe community for people and their families who are suffering from Lyme. I hope it continues to grow and that we will start seeing some changes in Canada in terms of diagnostics as well as the education and treatment of Lyme.

Leave a Reply

